Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala

Overall Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating[5/5]Total Votes [ 3 ]  
Rate this page:
The Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala was incorporated on 24th January 1987 with the aim to participate in the decentralization of the department of rural development. It governs the various activities and schemes developed by the rural development department of the state.

The district collectors of the rural development department are responsible for the execution of the rural development programs at district level. The Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala has been bestowed with a separate ministerial unit to assist the execution of welfare programmes designed for the rural sections of the state. The commissionerate rural development also looks after the implementation of the projects for the development in rural regions. To carry out these tasks, a project team is formed under a supporting engineer.

Some of the major activities carried out by Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala are listed as under:

  • Various development programmes were introduced in terms of agriculture, animal husbandry, rural industries, health, education, housing, and rural communication
  • Self help Groups were formed to execute the development work smoothly and effectively
  • Financial assistance was entrusted with the evolution of National Extension Service in October 1953
  • A separate organization was set up in order to respond to the requirements and needs of the rural poor
  • The under-privileged farmers and the drought-stricken areas of the rural sectors were given special attention by implementing a number of prevention programmes, namely, Drought Prone Area Programme, Small Farmers Development Agency (SFDA), and Marginal Farmers and Agricultural Labourers Development Agency
  • Integrated rural development programmes were implemented in order to remove unemployment and poverty lines in the rural corners of the state
  • District Rural Development Agencies were introduced in various parts of the state to keep a check on the IRD programmes as well as to implement the welfare activities
  • The National Rural Employment Programme was introduced in the rural regions of Kerala with the aim to ensure employment among the unemployed class
  • Employment guarantee was also committed to the landless group of rural poor and in the recent period the district level execution of welfare program was entitled to the District Rural Development Agencies (DRDA)
The welfare schemes developed by the Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala are as follows:

  • Credit-cum-subsidy Housing Scheme
  • Provision of Urban Amenities in Rural Areas (PURA)
  • Hariyali
  • Centrally Sponsored Rural Sanitation Programme [CRSP]
  • Rural Infrastructure Development Fund
  • Sampoorna Gramin Rozgar Yogana (SGRY)
  • Swarna Jayanthi Grama Swarzgar Yogana (SGSY)
  • Grameen Bharat
  • Sanitation Programmes
  • Kerala Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (NREGS)
  • Non-planning Schemes
  • Integrated Watershed Development Programme (IWDP)
  • Indira Awas Yogana (IAY)
  • Innovative Stream for Rural Housing and Habitat Development
  • Prime Minister's Gram Sadak Yogana (PMGSY)
  • Plan Funds for Block Panchayats
  • Swarna Jayanthi Grama Swarzgar Yogana (SGSY) Special Project
The contact details of the Commissionerate of Rural Development, Govt. of Kerala are mentioned below:

Commissionerate of Rural Development
LMS Compound,
Opposite Corporation Office
Vikas Bhavan.p.o

Pin: 695033
Tel: 0471 2316095
Fax. 0471 2317214

last Updated 25/05/2011