Indian Bank

Overall Rating: star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating[5/5]Total Votes [ 2 ]  
Rate this page:
Indian Bank is a bank doing financial business in the Indian Republic. The bank is owned and administered by the Indian Government. Indian Bank is regarded as one of the larger banks with 1,543 branches spread all over the country. The number of employees of Indian Bank has currently crossed 22,000 persons. Mr. M.S Sundara Rajan is the present Chairman and Managing Director.


Indian Bank started commercial operations from August 15, 1907. One of the key-founding members was V. Krishnaswamy Iyer. Mr. Iyer was a lawyer by profession. The first bank branch was opened in Madras (presently Chennai). In its initial years, Indian Bank opened branches in South Indian cities.

Pre-World War II

Indian Bank opened its first international branch in Colombo, Sri Lanka in 1932. In 1935, a branch started functioning from Jaffna. However, the Jaffna branch of Indian Bank was closed down in 1935. The Rangoon branch was opened in 1940. Subsequent Indian Bank branches were opened in Kuala Lumpur, Sri Lanka, Penang, and Ipoh. The advent of the Second World War, however, put an end to the bank's expansion plans.


The Indian Government nationalized Indian Bank in 1969. The bank continued its international presence by becoming a technical advisor to the Indonesian P T Bank in 1978. Indian Bank celebrated its centenary year in 2007.

Indian Bank has consistently undertaken modernization in banking procedures over the years. Customers of the bank may take advantage of Internet banking facilities provided. The bank issues debit and credit cards for personal use.

If you wish to know more about Indian Bank, please click on the following links: Head Office Address
PB No.1384, 66, Rajaji Salai,
Chennai 600 001, Tamil Nadu
Phone Nos.: 044-25233231/25231253/25231254

Last Updated on 3/16/2011